Face Off

Husband: Are you feeling ok?

Me: Yes, I’m fine. Why?

Husband: Oh, you just look a bit pale around the eyes.

Me: Oh? Really?

Then the penny dropped.

Husband: Ohhhh. You’re not wearing any make-up.

Indeed, I wasn’t. I had a rehearsal later for a show and didn’t fancy putting on the slap twice. I had dyed my hair though and put on some fake tan. I thought, despite the lack of mascara, I looked all right.

20140605-205408.jpg

Clearly not.

So, later, back home in stage make-up:

20140605-205507.jpg

Husband: That’s a lot of make-up you’ve got on.

Mind you, this is the man who told me I looked ‘too sparkly’ on our wedding day. Clearly he doesn’t understand the make-up thing.

Some days I just can’t win.

11 thoughts on “Face Off”

  1. When will they learn that really the only acceptable comment on our looks is “Oh, wow – you look great!” or some variation thereof…
    -Amy

  2. Wow, you look great with no make up on. One of my dearest and oldest friends dropped in early one morning and caught me with a bare face and bed hair, and her reaction was OMFG.

  3. Husband: Are you feeling okay?
    You: Yes, I’m fine. Why?
    Husband: Oh, you just look a bit pale around the eyes.
    You: Have you thought anymore about that vasectomy yet?

  4. Men are hopeless.

    My coworker and I always talk about how all we have to do to convince our boss we’re sick is to wear a little less makeup that day and everyone is all “are you okay? you look a little off.” Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

