A Peek Behind the Door

20140616-234108.jpg

I’m so excited about today’s post, as I invited one of my favourite bloggers, West517 to take part in the Blogging Process tour and I was thrilled when she agreed.

I adore West517’s view of life. Always stunning, she captures the most amazing images, seeing beauty in everything from vintage signs to nature, expressed in the most amazing colours. Her posts never fail to make me feel a sense of longing that I could look at life through the same lens. Utterly gorgeous and inspiring.

20140616-235532.jpg

Here are her answers. West517, I’m so flattered that you allowed us a peek behind the door.

What am I working on?
I’m rather spontaneous with my blog posts, but consistently what I’m focused on is creating vintage filters in Adobe Photoshop… and experimenting with “free lensing.” J

How does my work differ from others of its genre.
I think that what I create is unique because it’s mine. Born out of my life, my experiences, my perceptions, my influences and abilities … and most of all my loves. I hope that everyone who reads my blog or glances at one of my images feels a little sunnier, a little warmer and a little lighter when they leave.

Why do I write what I do?
I feel that life itself creates art in me every day… Feeling the sun on my face, exchanging “Eskimo Kisses” with my niece, swimming in the Ocean, running in the rain~ or buying a new pair of high heel shoes. I like to think that the action releases the voice and a poem is born, a song is written, an image is created or a story told. Thomas Merton said that, “Art enables us find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.” In this process of creativity I am found and lost, born and reborn. Everyone needs a medium of expression and my blog, my images and words are just a small part of mine.

I can’t implore you enough to add West517 to your reading list and add her distinctive sunniness to your day.

2 thoughts on “A Peek Behind the Door”

Leave a Reply

