So That’s September Done Then

‘How many days til Christmas?’ Boo asked.

So I worked it out. ‘Ninety-eight.’

Gulp. And that’s the trouble with September. The end of the year seems suddenly a bit too close, especially when it only seems like a heartbeat since we were counting 98 days until Boo’s birthday.

Obviously Boo immediately wrote her Christmas list. Maybe I should make the most of the early order and save myself scrabbling around for sold out Frozen dolls in mid-December. Although I bet I won’t. Obviously.

There’s been more to the month that sees the shift from flip-flops to knee-high boots. Such as…

20140930-232931.jpg
The summer holidays drew to a close with poppies…

20140930-233035.jpg
…and fountains.

20140930-233116.jpg
Noodles wasn’t too impressed at getting a soaking.

20140930-233210.jpg
A brand new uniform for a new school term. The grin is even bigger this week as she’s Star of the Week.

20141001-002709.jpg
Boo also found out that she’d passed her ballet exam. Yay! (And I’m glad my clumsiness on the other side of the door didn’t spoil things after all.)

20141001-003501.jpg
Things you learn not to do twice: catch your leg on the filing cabinet. Ouch!

20141001-003752.jpg
The fridge decided it was The Bahamas…

20141001-003942.jpg
…although the ice in the bottom suggested something quite different. (Remember, that’s NOT the freezer!) Time for a new fridge, I think!

20141001-004506.jpg
‘Enjoy the rest of your journey,’ said Birchanger services. Not when your car’s broken down in the car park.

20141001-004659.jpg
Five days later the car was on its way home again. Hoorah! (And it turned out NOT to be the head gasket, so was less hideous a fix. Double hoorah!)

20141001-005332.jpg
Especially as it meant that Indy got to go back to uni.

She also came to a bit of a realisation:

20141001-005730.jpg
Yep.

As for work, I now have infinitely less glamorous surroundings:

20141001-074543.jpg
No more millionaire mansions. *Sigh* But I do have an amazing bunch of colleagues…

…and an I-can-take-you-on dress, bought with the gains of a particularly harsh day at work.

20141001-074802.jpg

In random news, Boo’s potato had a face in it:

20141001-075427.jpg

And it seems Boo’s not the only one already preparing for Christmas:

20141001-075657.jpg
Aaaaaaarrrgh!!!

And thus I shall go into denial about the forthcoming excessive spending, as usual. Instead I’ll look forward to all that October has to offer first. Including a trip to Disneyland Paris. Any tips for quelling the desire of a 2-year-old to run and scream on a far-too-long coach trip would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

12 thoughts on “So That’s September Done Then”

  1. Oh, that’s a pretty good September, I must say (except the car and the bruise)! And Disneyland Paris? Do I sense a Family Days Out post coming next month? (rubs hands together in anticipated glee!) Can’t wait!

    1. Oh, I have a feeling Disneyland could be an EPIC Family Days Out post. Queues, bad weather, small children, long coach journeys, early mornings and late nights and enforced happiness – but I know I will love it despite it all. Disney really is magic, cos anywhere else I’d be throwing in the towel.

    1. Well, apart from the bruising. But even having a morning to myself waiting for the AA man was quite nice. I don’t normally get a chance to read the Sunday papers on an actual Sunday otherwise. Maybe I should breakdown more often?

Leave a Reply

