A Promise

I promise that I will do my best, to be true to myself and develop my beliefs, to serve the Queen and my community, to help other people and to keep the Brownie Guide law.

Boo made her Brownie promise tonight and became an official Brownie.

IMG_1062.JPG

I don’t think she could have been more excited if she’d tried!

IMG_1065.JPG

They were some big things she promised tonight though and she took them to heart even if I’m not sure that she fully appreciates them yet.

Therefore, I would like to make my own promise to Boo, because family life gets tough as you grow up, particularly as you become more independent. Therefore:

I promise that I will do my best. To be truthful about most things (some stuff I will claim creative licence on for now) and to be open-minded about your beliefs (unless it involves inappropriate pastimes/boyfriends/tattoos/piercings). To serve you and the rest of the family, in as much as I’ll be there for you and provide for you, not that I’ll pick up your crap from the sofa when you’re capable of doing it yourself. To help you without smothering you or driving you insane. And to keep you being you, on the right side of the Law.

Which isn’t easy because, y’know, teenagers! But all little people have to go through that tunnel. She’s a good kid though. And I’ve got a few years yet until my words come back to bite me on the backside. In the meantime, here’s hoping the Brownies helps steer her onto the right path too.

7 thoughts on “A Promise”

    1. She really was so chuffed at becoming a proper Brownie. Although I’m not sure she’s quite grasped the concept of ‘good turns’. If I ask her to do something she’ll refuse ‘because you don’t ASK for a good turn’…but if I say ‘oh, I wish someone would…’ then she’s over it like a rash!

Leave a Reply

