Voting: back to basics

I’ve put the cross in my little box. But for those still undecided this could just well help:

(Perhaps in the future our politicians could bear this in mind too it would definitely help.)

[X]

Cogito Ergo Mum

The kids have been asking questions about the elections. With so much hot air and hype out there, it’s hard to find a way to explain how I decide who to vote for.

It’s made harder still because I still haven’t quite decided who I am going to vote for. The clock is ticking!

I’ve read the manifestos, listened to the TV debates, and watched Newsround with the 6 year old. So many words, opinions, and commenters. It’s clouded my thinking. So today, I am going back to basic principles.

As far as I can see, the cornerstones of modern democracy in the West are Freedom, Equality, and Community. Think the French Revolution motto “Liberte, egalite, fraterinte”.

We are lucky, in many ways, that all political parties are mindful of these values that the vast majority of us hold dear. Some of them lean more towards Freedom, some Equality, and some Community to…

View original post 510 more words

Leave a Reply

